jump to navigation

Michigan Avenue April 27, 2008

Posted by mk in Uncategorized.
Tags:
trackback

There are a million things going on along Michigan Avenue. I’ve been exploring what could potentially be a new place to live a little bit more every day. I miss living in the city but a few things I’d forgotten that I’ve noticed along the way:

Dress up clothes with tennis shoes: I understand the practicality completely because as it stands my own feet hurt from walking around miles daily. But tennis shoes with fishnets? And we’re not talking the very small, black fishnets that with the appropriate outfit still have some class. We’re talking hooker, bright, yellow, big fishnets with a mini-skirt and half a shirt.

Chicago is definitely the biggest city in the Midwest: For us Midwesterners, it really is a big deal to go to the “big city” for a little shopping excursion. There is a distinct difference between those that live here and those that don’t. Like a game show, people put a lot of thought into what they are wearing yet it still just doesn’t make the city cut. I am sure one lady pulled out her ‘best’ neon pants for the occasion.

Will you give me money?: Amazingly enough the people begging and shaking their change cups (I think they do best in front of Starbucks) don’t bother me, nor do those playing their music. I would rather give them my money than the street corner Green Peace groups. Yes, I care about the environment but I don’t want to give my money to you. If they ask me one more time why I don’t care about the environment, I might scream.

Don’t you care about dying children?: Worse though is the group raising money for underprivileged children worldwide. I can’t remember the name of the group. I didn’t recognize it when they told me which obviously means I should just hand over my credit card to the kid on the side of the street. But he caught me and wouldn’t let me go. When I told him I wasn’t interested in giving $22/month for the rest of my life, he responded “but for such a small amount, you can mean the world to a child and save their life.” And I still didn’t want to give him money so the real guilt ridden comments came out…”Why don’t you care about poor, starving children?” That was when I walked away.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

