jump to navigation

A Victory November 5, 2008

Posted by mk in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

I am so excited today.  I’ll admit that I have been nervous for the last couple weeks but tonight it proved to be completely unwarranted.  Barack Obama came through in the end and I am thrilled.  I was concerned that I was going to cry because I was so upset that McCain won but as it turns out, it was the opposite.

I’ve always felt bad for the candidates that do not become the president.  I remember being sad for George Bush when he lost to Bill Clinton – that was 16 years ago.  And today, I feel sad for John McCain.  I can’t even imagine what it must be like to want something so much and sacrifice everything ‘normal’ about your life for years in attempt to get the most important job in our country.

Back to things I’m happy about:  A few amazing things happened today (besides Obama winning).

I am from Indiana and for as long as I can remember, it has been extraordinarly conservative.  Though it’s not over, Obama has a very narrow lead in Indiana.  24,000 votes ahead with 99% of precincts reporting.  This election has proven to be a historic occasion already.

President
Indianabattleground

Status
Candidate          Vote            Vote %
1,347,142
50%
1,323,629
49%
99% precincts reporting – Updated 1 minute ago

Also….I live in Utah and typically speaking we are as red as a state can be (more than Indiana).  Today (though the precincts have not all reported) we had a small victory.  Obama is winning Summit County (expected) and Salt Lake County (not so expected) and we have the most Democratic leaning election also since LBJ in 1964.

banner_left

President / Vice President

Precincts
Reporting
McCain / Palin (REP)
Obama / Biden (DEM)
Totals 2245 78.66% 1766 61.49% 441,645 35.57% 255,498
Comments»

1. Karen - November 5, 2008

It is like Christmas morning !


Leave a Reply

