jump to navigation

I Never Thought I Would Like Guitar Hero…. January 13, 2009

Posted by mk in Uncategorized.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I started playing Guitar Hero a few months ago and have consequently really started to like it.  I’m not sure why I thought I wouldn’t like it since I do like music and I do like the occasional video game.  Possibly that the first couple times I tried it, I was nothing short of horrible.  I’m not an expert rocker yet but I can rock the medium (at least that’s what the game tells me) and there are a couple songs that I can hit 100%.

Is it like the real guitar?  Not at all.  Do I think I could come close to learning the guitar?  Not at all.  I’ll be the first to admit that I am just not musically inclined.  I can’t sing.  I can’t play a single instrument….unless you could “Fur Elise” on the piano – but only the right hand side from memory.  I can’t read music….unless I go throug FACE for the spaces and Every Good Boy Deserves Fudge for the lines very slowly.

Some people are using Guitar Hero and Rock Band as the inspiration to move into the real thing.  Check out this interview in the Freakonomics Blog with the guy who started it all.

I personally know that P. Fisher started playing the real guitar after Guitar Hero pushed him to give it a serious try.  So maybe he’s right and there are other people out there that are crossing from gaming to music??

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

